At what grade levels are students required to take the Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) test

Posted by Dave Lyon on 10/16/2017

The Virginia Board of Education requires state level assessments in grades 3 through 8 and in End-Of-Course (EOC) classes.  These state required assessments are as follows:

Grade 3:  Reading and Math

Grade 4: Reading, Math, and Virginia Studies

Grade 5: Reading, Math, and Science

Grade 6 and 7: Reading and Math

Grade 8: Reading, Math, Science, and Civic & Economics

---------------------- End-of-Course (EOC) High School Level Courses----------

Students will not necessarily need to take all of the tests below.  Only the tests required to earn a verified credit for the diploma type students are pursuing.

  • Grade 11: English Reading and Writing
  • Algebra I and II
  • Geometry
  • Earth Science
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • World History I and II
  • Work Geography
  • US/VA History