Return to Headlines

Osbourn Students Named Commended Students in National Scholarship Program

September 28, 2018...The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) named two Osbourn High School seniors Commended Students in the 2018 program. 

Meredith Seaberg and Zachary Nowak are among 34,000 students nationwide to receive the recognition after they were among the top scorers of the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The 2018 Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition. 

 “The young men and women being named Commended students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a spokesperson for NMSC said. “We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

 Pictured from left to right: OHS College & Career Center Coordinator Larry Gilligan, Zachary Nowak, Meredith Seaberg
and OHS Principal Joseph Gabalski.